Michal Martyniuk - Resonate
10,99 € Disc CD [delivery]
5,99 € MP3 Album [download]

Michał Martyniuk - Resonate - premiere 18th of November 2019 (SJRecords046) 


Following on from Michal Martyniuk’s 2018 debut CD/vinyl and digital release “Nothing to Prove”, Michal has assembled a similar group of musicians to present “Resonate”. With a blend of brand new works recorded in Poland plus unreleased tracks featuring his New Zealand based band, “Resonate” shows the width and breadth of this young pianist and composer’s writing abilities. Stand out tracks are the drum propelled syncopation of “Awakening” and the pensive melodic piano work of "The Opening"


“Resonate” is yet another showcase of Martyniuk’s maturity both as a composer and pianist, framed beautifully by a team of musicians who understand his approach and concept. Featuring Jakub Skowronski on saxofone, Kuba Mizeracki on guitar, Bartek Chojnacki on double bass, Kuba Gudz on drums, Cameron McArthur on double bass and Ron Samsom on drums



  • Michał Martyniuk - piano
  • Jakub Skowroński - tenor sax
  • Kuba Mizeracki - electric guitar
  • Bartek Chojnacki - double bass
  • Kuba Gudz - drums
  • Ron Samsom – drums
  • Cameron McArthur - double bass


Michał Martyniuk (born in 1988 in Szczecin in Poland, but has been living in New Zealand for 13 years) is a pianist, composer and a music producer who became one of the most active creators in the New Zealand music scene. In 2016 Michal released his debut album “Odyssey” under the name After Ours with leading musicians from New Zealand and around the world. The album combines jazz with club and electronic music.
Michal divides his time between his native Poland and New Zealand, but his latest 2nd place at the prestigious “Made In New York” Jazz Competition in New York City in May 2018 has certainly got people talking. After performing his own compositions on stage alongside judges and jazz legends Randy Brecker, John Pattitucci, Mike Stern and Francisco Mela, Michal’s career has accelerate and he has got established on the International jazz scene. In 2018 pianist has released his second album ”Nothing To Prove” beautifully recorded in Poland with eight self penned compositions that highlight his mastery at the piano.

Legendary trumpeter and Judge at the “Made In New York” Jazz Competition Randy Brecker describes "Nothing To Prove" - ”It's a beautiful and moving album with great compositions and playing from everyone - it's very well thought out and put together!”

 Without question, Michal has established a strong reputation in the music industry with his unique approach to live music performance and composition. More than this, he represents the next generation of musicians that are venturing to build something exciting that reflects the tradition of creativity and collaboration.

This year Michal has got nominated to a prestigious music award (Fryderyk 2019) in the category of jazz - Discovery of the year.